Breeders' Cup Horse Race

Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile

The Breeders' Cup World Championship is a two-day racing event that takes place annually in North America. The location is rotated between different venues and over $20 million in prize money is awarded each year. The biggest race in the event is the Breeders' Cup Classic, with a prize pool of $5 million. This race is often referred to simply as the Breeder's Cup. The event draws large audiences at the racecourse and a huge one worldwide for television. It's been held since 1984 and started out as a one-day event before expanding to two days in 2007.

Grade I Races at the Breeders' Cup World Championship

Most of the races at the Breeders' Cup World Championship are Grade I Stakes races, the highest rating for Thoroughbred races in the United States. The details of the races and their grades can change periodically, but there are currently 13 Grade I races scheduled for the event. The most important is the Breeders' Cup Classic, details of which are provided below. The other Grade I races all have a prize pool of at least $1 million with some prize pools of $2 million or more. The richest race excluding the Breeders' Cup Classic is the Breeders' Cup Turf, which has a $3 million prize pool. The full list of Grade I races at the Breeders' Cup World Championship is as follows in the order they currently take place.

  • Juvenile Fillies Turf
  • Juvenile Fillies
  • Filly & Mare Turf
  • Ladies' Classic
  • Turf Sprint
  • Juvenile Turf
  • Filly & Mare Sprint
  • Cup Sprint
  • Dirt Mile
  • Turf
  • Juvenile
  • Mile
  • Classic

Other Races at the World Championship

At the time of this writing, there are only two races held at the Breeders' Cup World Championship that are not Grade I Stakes. These are far from minor races, however, as they both have prize pools of $500,000. The two races are the Breeders' Cup Marathon, which is a Grade II Stakes, and the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Sprint, has recently become a Grade I. The Juvenile Sprint was only run for the first time in 2011, and grading rules state that a race must be run for at least two years before it can be graded. That is why it just received its grade in 2013.

The Breeders' Cup Classic

The Breeders' Cup Classic is the premier race at the Breeders' Cup World Championship and it's the last race to take place at the two-day event. The race is for 3-year-old Thoroughbreds and older and is run over a distance of one-quarter mile. For many racing enthusiasts, the Breeders' Cup Classic is the biggest race in America, although others would argue that the Kentucky Derby and the other two races that make up the Triple Crown are bigger. In terms of prize money, it's currently only the Dubai World Cup that has a larger prize pool.

Betting on the 2017 Event

The 2017 Breeders' Cup will be held at Keeneland in Lexington, Kentucky on November 3-4th. There will be plenty of betting opportunities, and, as always, the high quality of the contenders in the main race is sure to make it difficult to pick the winner. A little closer to the time of the Championships, we'll provide some insight into betting for the big race with our views on the horses with the best chance. Please bookmark this page and check back soon.

The best way to bet on the 2017 Breeders' Cup World Championships is to use an online horse racing betting site. The top sites will offer extensive coverage of the event, and you'll be able to get in on all the races. Many of these betting sites will also have a range of specials and prop bets available, some of which can offer great value.

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Get Help

Copyright © 2018 All Right Reserved.